Shameful – Day 14 – #OctPoWriMo 2016 #31days31poems


In India, female foeticide has been an evil practice for centuries, for the want of a male child. There are religious, social, financial and emotional reasons too. Times are changing and people are embracing the girl child. Unfortunately, there is still a segment of the society that practices female foeticide.The poem addresses the malpractice which needs a complete elimination.

An Epigram on prompt of the day:

Shameful

Pink or blue, blue or pink, do you have a choice dear?
Time to sniff smelling salts, morning sickness is here.

The kind blue eyes of Gynae pierce through my lost soul,
I lower my gaze and dig my toenails deeper into the floor.

Shameful of bowing down to the patriarchal arm twisting,
I make a strong resolve to let my child be blue or pink.

IMG_6600.JPG

2 Comments Add yours

  1. What a truly powerful poem.
    People are terrible in so many ways.
    Who is it that decided that little girls aren’t equally as precious as boys?
    I hope one day we will have a world in which all life is truly valued.

    Cie from Dark Hearts Love Too

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gayatri says:

      Thank you Cara. Appreciate your comment and sentiment. May we empower our girls today to become the strength of a better world tomorrow.

      Like

Leave a comment