The Photographers’ Poem


50 mm lens, a compact nifty fifty,

aperture shifting, @ f/1.2,f/2.4,f/4,

Zoom in, out slant of the eyebrows,

The face, myopic, microscopic now.

(-0.50 lens, are appearances everything)?

 

The scuffle between agility and survival,

Amma’s saree pleats on her forehead,

mish and mashed, like parallel plateau,

in an ebb & flow, embedded in her destiny.

(The glitter on her face is not a diamond).

 

The hands maybe, bled as they wrote,

verse & prose of love, longing, and loss,

The dexterity of those robust hands,

scaffolded, holding precarious verses.

(not the frame, but in his narrowed eyes).
The peacocks at season’s first shower,

squeezing feet, expanding, contracting,

their feet trample all over her eyelids,

sun glares, hope depletes, a dry day.

(Another red note in the baniya’s register.)
Faces I faced, during nomadic journeys,

people I met, momentarily, captured,

Untold stories the camera tagged along,

Unresolved conflicts, not mine, mine now.

(Ah, Travesty of A Photographers’ Life).

 

I am taking my blog to next level with #Blogchatter and #MyFriendAlexa Season 2.

This poem is the post no. 7 in the Blogchatter Alexa challenge.

All photographs are clicked by the writer. Rights to all the photographs and content remain with the writer of this blog @ImaGeees. No reproduction of content or photograph allowed without permission from the writer.

42 Comments Add yours

  1. its very hard to put a picture is words. this poem is beautifully expressing every capture from that lens

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gayatri says:

      Thank you, Danisha.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. sushmitamalakar says:

    There is a reason why they say that pictures speak a thousand words! A beautifully crafted poem!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gayatri says:

      Thank you so much Sushmita.

      Like

    2. Gayatri says:

      Thank you, Sushmita.

      Like

  3. kasturi says:

    Such a beautiful poem, Gayatri!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gayatri says:

      Thank you so much Kasturi. I am glad you read it.

      Like

  4. I am at a loss of words. I do not know what to praise more, the poem or the photography. Superb! Simply marvellous!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gayatri says:

      Thank you so much Agnivo. These are some of my fave portraits from years of travel. A part of each became me or I became them, not sure which one happened before.

      Like

    1. Gayatri says:

      Thank you so much.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Masoom says:

        Welcome #MYFriendAlexa

        Liked by 1 person

  5. The untold stories will travel far and wide because you didn’t just capture an image but the essence of its being.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gayatri says:

      Thank you so much for your love to the post Diya. Stories have a life of their own.May this finds the feet it deserves 🙂

      Like

  6. Amma’s saree pleats on her forehead was soul touching .While I read the poem I realized a photo is like a piece of time captured in a shot .Excellent

    Like

    1. Gayatri says:

      Thank you, Dr. Amrita. These are some of my favorite portraits that formed lives of their own.Travelling is evolving. When you meet people like this who have faced the travesty of life and yet, keep moving, it humbles you.

      Like

  7. pythoroshan says:

    These images are absolutely amazing… The depth… It’s like you say ‘this photo has a soul of its own’

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gayatri says:

      Thank you so much, Roshan. These pictures talk to me. so very often.

      Like

  8. Disha says:

    Beautiful pictures & catchy poem. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. What stunning pictures of the parallel plateaus ! Please some day photograph me . You are really gifted.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gayatri says:

      Thank you Kuheli. Glad you liked them! Sure, would love to capture your portraits. Let’s connect when you are in Delhi or when I am in Goa next!

      Like

  10. This is such a lovely poem. The Malady of nomadic life! And the images are also fantastic! Keep penning more such poems.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gayatri says:

      Thank you so much Rohan.

      Like

  11. Nice poem. I wish I had that ability as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gayatri says:

      I feel the same when I read my favorite poets, Paresh. Every one has a unique ability that others don’t. I am sure you have many abilities that I may lack 🙂

      Like

  12. Shamik says:

    A lovely poem with some lovely clicks. Great combination 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gayatri says:

      Thanks very much Shamik.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Vinay Leo R. says:

    The hands maybe, bled as they wrote
    verse & prose of love, longing, and loss…

    I loved these lines a lot, but I feel some of those photographs that you have clicked speak silent verses too. 🙂 They are very, very beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gayatri says:

      Thank you Vinay.These are some of my fave portraits from years of travel. you are right, they speak silent verses. Thus, I gave voice to only few in the poem. “The hands may bled” for the man who wrote “all of those who sleep tonight”, you saw the intensity in his eyes ? where do you find such depth…

      Like

  14. stunning pictures with amazing poetry. I must have read the poem and checked out the photos at-least 4 times by now. Truly mesmerizing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gayatri says:

      Thank you so much Keerthi. I am glad you liked the poems & pictures so much. I am click happy photographer, posting on Instagram off late. Handle is : GayatriiM 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Gayatri says:

    Speechless & humbled. Have no words to respond to your complement.Thank you so much, P.

    Like

  16. Stunning poetry with amazing captures. Wow, very rare to see these days people clicking and writing both brilliantly 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gayatri says:

      Thank you so much Ashwini. You have been very kind in your praise (and superlatives). I am beaming ear to ear :)).

      Writing is not a choice but a habit, photography is an OCD I am trying to find a cure of. Some days, these two find rhythm together and create a new symphony. I am a mere spectator.

      Like

  17. smitaluthra says:

    By the way did you take all these pictures? Amazing expressions. Love the photographs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gayatri says:

      I did, all of them, on the blog :). These are imprints of my nomadic life. Thank you so much for your love to the post, Smita ❤

      Like

  18. smitaluthra says:

    Wow! Love the poetry – “Another red note in baniya’s register”!! I’ll remember this forever.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gayatri says:

      Thank you , Smita.The travesty of liberated lives that exist only on papers. In rural India, nothing has changed. Or may be somethings, not all.

      Like

  19. nuttynupur says:

    Great photo. A face can say so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. I have never read a poem so unique and believe me I have read many.
    Love
    P.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment